Hubert Wolfe Award

This award, established in memory of Dr. Hubert Wolfe, will be awarded annually at the discretion of the Society to honor an outstanding paper in the field of endocrine pathology published during the previous year by a pathologist in training.

Dr. Wolfe was a founding member of the Endocrine Pathology Society and the Society’s first President. He was a visionary pathologist who pioneered the development of both immunohistochemistry and diagnostic molecular pathology. His classic paper on the clinical, pathological and immunohistochemical features of C-cell hyperplasia and its relationship to medullary thyroid carcinoma was published in 1973. That seminal contribution provided the foundations for understanding of early thyroid cancer development in patients with type 2 multiple endocrine neoplasia syndromes. Dr. Wolfe established one of the world’s first diagnostic molecular pathology laboratories in the in the early 1980’s and was one of the first researchers to utilize in situ hybridization for studies of endocrine tumors and their precursor lesions. He used his laboratory to train dozens of young pathologists who now hold respected positions in the United States, Europe and Japan.

The call for nominations is typically announced in the December issue of Endocrine Pathology Journal. Nominations should be emailed at and will be reviewed by the Wolfe award committee. The award and accompanying prize will be awarded at the Society’s annual meeting.

The Wolfe Award Committee:

Ronald A. DeLellis, M.D.
Lifespan Academic Medical Center
Arthur S. Tischler, M.D.
Tufts Medical Center
Rony Ghossein, M.D.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Ozgur Mete, M.D.
University Health Network


Hubert Wolfe Awardees

2021: Yu-Cheng Lee
Lee YC, Chen JY, Huang CJ, et al. Detection of NTRK1/3 Rearrangements in Papillary Thyroid Carcinoma Using Immunohistochemistry, Fluorescent In Situ Hybridization, and Next-Generation Sequencing. Endocr Pathol. 2020 Dec;31(4):348-358.

2018: Ranran Zhang
Zhang R, Hardin H, Huang W et al. MALAT1 Long Non-coding RNA Expression in Thyroid Tissues: Analysis by In Situ Hybridization and Real-Time PCR. Endocr Pathol. 2017 Mar;28(1):7-12.

2017: Kristine Wong
Wong KS, Angell TE, Strickland KC et al. Noninvasive Follicular Variant of Papillary Thyroid Carcinoma and the Afirma Gene-Expression Classifier. Thyroid. 2016 Jul;26(7):911-5.

2016: Kyle Strickland
Strickland KC, Howitt BE, Marqusee E et al. The Impact of Noninvasive Follicular Variant of Papillary Thyroid Carcinoma on Rates of Malignancy for Fine-Needle Aspiration Diagnostic Categories. Thyroid. 2015 Sep;25(9):987-92

2015: Thomas Papathomas
Papathomas TG, Oudijk L, Zwarthoff EC et al. Telomerase reverse transcriptase promoter mutations in tumors originating from the adrenal gland and extra-adrenal paraganglia. Endocr Relat Cancer. 2014 Aug;21(4):653-61.

2013: Renu Virk
Virk RK, Van Dyke AL, Finkelstein A et al. BRAFV600E mutation in papillary thyroid microcarcinoma: a genotype-phenotype correlation. Mod Pathol. 2013 Jan;26(1):62-70. 

2012: Daniel A. Winer
Winer DA, Winer S, Shen L et al. B cells promote insulin resistance through modulation of T cells and production of pathogenic IgG antibodies. Nat Med. 2011 May;17(5):610-7.

2010: Jose Gaal
van Nederveen FW, Gaal J, Favier J et al. An immunohistochemical procedure to detect patients with paraganglioma and phaeochromocytoma with germline SDHB, SDHC, or SDHD gene mutations: aretrospective and prospective analysis. Lancet Oncol. 2009 Aug; 10(8):764-7 1.

2007: Tetsuo Kondo
Kondo T, Zheng L, Liu W et al. Epigenetically controlled fibroblast growth factor receptor 2 signaling imposes on the RAS/BRAF/mitogen-activated protein kinase pathway to modulate thyroid cancer progression. Cancer Res. 2007 Jun 1;67(11):5461-70.

2006: Francien H van Nederveen
van Nederveen FH, Perren A, Dannenberg H et al. PTEN gene loss, but not mutation, in benign and malignant phaeochromocytomas. J Pathol. 2006 Jun;209(2):274-80.

2005: Martin Anlauf
Anlauf M, Wieben D, Perren A, Sipos B, Komminoth P, Raffel A, Kruse ML, Fottner C, Knoefel WT, Mönig H, Heitz PU, Klöppel G. Persistent hyperinsulinemic hypoglycemia in 15 adults with diffuse nesidioblastosis: diagnostic criteria, incidence, and characterization of beta-cell changes. Am J Surg Pathol. 2005 Apr;29(4):524-33.

2004: Hina A. Sheikh
Sheikh HA, Tometsko M, Niehouse L et al. Molecular genotyping of medullary thyroid carcinoma can predict tumor recurrence. Am J Surg Pathol. 2004 Jan;28(1):101-6.